The Dubai Fish Market

Any kind of market is always a happening place and a great venue for street photography. And the Dubai Fish Market is no different.

The Fish Market in Dubai was the chosen location for a David Burnett workshop during the Gulf Photo Plus 2013. 

If you haven't heard of either David or GPP, let me explain quickly. David Burnett has been a respected photojournalist for the past decades. His pictures from the 2012 Olympics in London are an example for his extraordinary work.

Gulf Photo Plus is the biggest & only photography festival in the Middle East with almost 50 workshops by 13 professional photographers during one week.

The following video shows selected photos by students from GPP2013 workshops. 

I was lucky with two of my pictures being selected.

 

But I digress. Besides a large section with the freshest catches from the Persian Gulf, this market also got a respectable area for fruits and meat. The latter is not for the faint hearted as the butchers do their work right in front of you. I have never seen a goat's brain taken out before. They do it so quickly that my manual f1.4 focussing was too slow. Maybe I should have gone with f8 to be quicker, but I was in the mood for some creamy bokeh that day.

Thanks for stopping by.

Frank


Write a comment

Comments: 0