Delhi Security Guards

It has been more than 6 months since I left Delhi, India. Time enough to conclude my “Security Guards” project and make a final decision on the photos to show in my gallery.

I wanted to portrait these men, as they are practically everywhere in India, but hardly ever noticed. They open you the door to restaurants. They stand beside the ATM machine. They frisk you when entering a mall or a concert house. And they also spend baking hot summer days and chilly cold winter nights outside the homes of those people who can afford a personal security guard.

I never quite got the feeling that they are able to guard something. And maybe they are not supposed to. Maybe just their presence is enough to keep potential random criminals away.

I have chosen the SLR Lounge Lightroom Presets for my “Security Guards” project. While I usually use black and white for my street photography, it became very soon clear to me that this series should be in color. But I wanted to have a bit of a warm and vintage look, in order to give these photos some timeless appearance instead of the clean digital camera look, and also convey the heat of a typcial Delhi Summer day.

The presets are categorized in 4 main groups such as neutral, cool, warm and antique curves. Each of these main groups have sub groups like bright, neutral, and dark wash, and  neutral and vintage punch. But it does not stop there: within the subgroups you can choose saturated, desaturated, cross or ivory looks.

Plenty of options for different styles and I didn't even mention the color toning ans special effects. For this series I have used the Warm Cross Vintage Punch Preset.

Another advantage of the SLR Lounge Lightroom Presets is that I don’t have to spend a lot of time in the Develop module of Lightroom making single adjustments, like contrast, saturation, clarity, curves, color toning.That’s all done with the click of a button.

Using the SLR Lounge Lightroom Presets can be actually quite inspiring: if I like the outcome of a certain preset, then I check in the Develop module, what changes it made. That gives me an idea how certain sliders and values work, and it often gives me new ideas or try out settings I didn’t do before.

 

With that, I am happy to conclude my “Security Guards” project. New projects are already under way and will be shared soon.

 

Thanks for visting my blog. Feel free to leave a comment below.

Frank


Write a comment

Comments: 0